The Faculty of Medicine, Thammasat University is the the ninth state Faculty of Medicine in Thailand and was proposed to be established as per the wishes of Prof. Prapass Ouychai the former rector of Thammasat University in 1979. A committee was appointed to draft the proposal which was driven into action by the next rector, Prof. Nongyao Chaiseree, under the endorsement of the University Council in its 8/1983 meeting. The council agreed with the academic policy to promote and provide support to scientific education and applied medicine, especially to generate graduates in medicine.

The Faculty of Medicine began its life through the construction of Thammasat University Hospital by the rector’s order no. 747/1986 dated 25th September 1986, which appointed a fund raising committee to collect money from all alumni towards the construction of the then-new faculty. This committee was led by Prof. Suthee Nartworathun as the president and Mr. Pramual Sapawasu, The Minister of Finance, as honorary president.

The establishment of the Faculty of Medicine was gradually put into action until the National Economic and Social Development Board agreed with the message in the letter from the Secretariat of the Cabinet following the rector’s suggestion of establishing the Faculty one year after the hospital was operational (this letter was dated 30th November 1986). In 1988, the next rector, Prof. Krerkkiat Phipatseritham, had cooperatively and closely worked with the establishment process in tandem with the Ministry of Public Health, and now required graduates as per the policies of The Department of Higher Education.

The University Council endorsed the establishing proposal in September 1988, and just over a year later was approved by the cabinet on January 30th, 1990. His Majesty signed the bill for the foundation on March 19th, 1990 formally establishing the Faculty of Medicine, Thammasat University as the ninth of Thai State Faculty of Medicine. The administration was first divided into four parts:

  1. The Office of Secretariat
  2. Department of Preclinical Science
  3. Department of Clinical Science
  4. Thammasat University Hospital.

In 2000, Prof. Nongyoa Chaiseree as the President of the University Council endorsed Thammasat University Hospital to be independent from the Faculty of Medicine and have autonomous administration under the Office of President. Later, the administrative structure was changed according to the Faculty Committee’s agreement to better serve its goals, mission, and strategies.